Thursday, February 23, 2017

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Nissan trophy tour launched

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Nissan trophy tour launched- With 100 days to go before the 8th edition of the ICC Champions Trophy, the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Nissan Trophy Tour was launched in the backyard of the International Cricket Council headquarters at the ICC Academy on Tuesday, 21 February. It is now almost confirmed. The whole schedule of the ICC Championship Trophy is out in the open. The first match of the trophy is scheduled to be played on 1st June, 2017 on the Oval, London between England and Bangladesh. It will be a Group A Match. On 2nd of June, Australia and New Zealand will play against each other at Edgbaston, Birmingham. This will be another Group A Match. The next match will be on 3rd June at the Ovals, London between Sri Lanka And South Africa. It is important here to note that it will be a Group B Match. The 1st Semi final will be however played on 14th June  between Group A winner and Group B runner up at Cardiff, Wales. The second Semi final will be played at Edgbaston, Birmingham between Group b winner and Group A Runner-up. The final of ICC Champion Trophy will be played on 18th June, 2017 at Oval, London.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: “The global trophy tour is the start of what will be a fantastic summer of cricket celebration in the UK with two major back-to-back events - the ICC Champions Trophy followed by the ICC Women’s World Cup.

Former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi said: “The ICC Champions Trophy is an event which gives me and millions of Pakistan cricket supporters mixed feelings. It is the only ICC major tournament Pakistan has never won, but at the same time it is the only ICC event in which Pakistan has beaten India. That said, I am sure things will soon change as nothing is permanent in life and sport.

The following is the schedule of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Nissan Trophy Tour:

March - 15 March – Mumbai, Bengaluru and Delhi
18 March - 21 March – Dhaka
22 March - 25 March – Colombo
28 March - 30 March– Karachi
April - 12 April – Johannesburg, Durban and Cape Town
15 April - 18 April – Auckland
19 April - 27 April – Melbourne and Sydney
2 May onwards – United Kingdom (30 days to go)


Post a Comment